# STATE OF NEVADA CERTIFIED COURT REPORTERS BOARD

Telephone: 702-489-8787 Fax: 702-489-8788
Email: Reporting@nvccrb.nv.gov Website: www.crptr.nv.gov

# FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

9/13

### **NEVADA STATUTES AND REGULATIONS**

- Q: Is it important to understand Nevada statutes and regulations?
- A: Yes. NAC 656.205 requires the court reporter and the designated firm representative to possess basic understanding and knowledge of the NRS statutes, NAC regulations and court rules governing the practice of court reporting in this State.
- Q: What is NRS?
- A: Nevada Revised Statutes, Chapter 656 are the laws governing the practice of court reporting in the state of Nevada. You can find the language in its entirety on our website at <a href="https://www.crptr.state.nv.us">www.crptr.state.nv.us</a> click on "Nevada Rules and Regulations"
- Q: What is NAC?
- A: Nevada Administrative Code, Chapter 656 are the regulations governing the practice of court reporting in the state of Nevada. You can find the language in its entirety on our website at <a href="https://www.crptr.state.nv.us">www.crptr.state.nv.us</a> click on "Nevada Rules and Regulations"

# **ADMINISTRATION**

- Q: Is a court reporter required to notify the Board of any name or address change?
- A: Yes. NRS 656.260(1) requires a court reporter to notify the Board of any name or address change, in writing, within 30 days of the change. NRS 656.260(3) allows the Board to suspend or revoke a license or certificate if the holder fails to notify the Board.
- Q: When are my fees due?
- A: A court reporter's certificate and the court reporting firm's license expire on June 30<sup>th</sup> of each year. Fees must be accompanied with your form and are due on May 15<sup>th</sup> each year. Any payment and/or form received during the period of May 16<sup>th</sup> through June 30<sup>th</sup> will be subject to a \$100.00 late fee. Failure to pay on or before June 30<sup>th</sup> will result in the suspension of your certificate or license on July 1<sup>st</sup>.
- Q: How do I receive electronic notification of Board Open Meetings and Workshops?
- A: You may submit your written request to the Board's office by fax or email.
- Q: Am I required to be a notary or a notary with limited powers?
- A: No. Effective July 1, 2007, pursuant to NRS 656.315, by virtue of being a Nevada certified court reporter; you may administer oaths and affirmations.

#### **CERTIFIED COURT REPORTER STATUS**

# Q: How do I apply for inactive status?

- A: NAC 656.170 allows a court reporter to apply for inactive status conditioned upon the following:
  - 1. The court reporter must be current on their fees and credits.
  - 2. The court reporter will submit an application and fee.

Please refer NAC 656.170 to read the language in its entirety.

# Q: What does it mean to "voluntarily surrender" your certificate?

A: NAC 656.180 allows a court reporter to retire their certificate by written notice to the Board. A court reporter who voluntarily surrenders their certificate can no longer provide court reporting services. The surrender of a certificate is absolute and irrevocable.

#### **OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER**

# Q: As an official court reporter, am I allowed to determine my rates in a civil case?

A: No. NRS 3.370 governs the rate an official reporter may charge. Please refer to NRS 3.370 to read the language in its entirety and the Attorney General's opinion found under "Legal Opinions".

## SERVICE IN A FOREIGN JURISDICTION

# Q: Can I accept Nevada case work from a court reporting firm that is not registered with the Board?

A: No. NAC 656.320(1) prohibits a court reporter to accept work or assignments from a firm that is not registered with the Board. A court reporter may make inquiries to the Board to determine whether a firm is registered with the Board.

# **CONTINUING EDUCATION CREDITS (CEUs)**

#### Q: How many CEUs am I required to earn and when are my credits due?

A: Pursuant to NAC 656.210, each court reporter shall, every 2 years, complete at least 15 hours of continuing education relating to the practice of court reporting, at least 2 of which must include a review of the statutes, regulations and court rules governing the practice of court reporting in this State. CEUs are due on or May 15<sup>th</sup> of the 2 year reporting period.

### Q: How do I submit my credits?

A: Pursuant to NAC 656.220, you are required to submit your CEUs using a Report of Compliance form.

# Q: Can I carry over CEUs?

A: No, all CEUs must be earned within the 2 year reporting period. Pursuant to NAC 656.210(3), CEUs may not be carried forward for any reporting period.

# Q: What happens if I do not submit by CEUs by June 30<sup>th</sup>?

A: Pursuant to NAC 656.230(3), the Board may suspend or revoke the certificate of a court reporter who fails to submit their CEUs by June 30<sup>th</sup> of the reporting period.

