State of Nevada

NEVADA CERTIFIED COURT REPORTERS BOARD
5135 Camino Al Norte, Suite 270 North Las Vegas, Nevada 89031
Phone: 702-489-8787 Fax: 702-489-8788
Email: Reporting@nvcerb.nv.gov Website: www.crptr.nv.gov

____ CERTIFICATION EXAMINATION APPLICATION

REV: 12/16
Date: Saturday, April 15, 2016
Place: Esquire Deposition Services, LLC 2300 West Sahara Avenue, Suite 770 Las Vegas, NV 89102
Please check appropriate box:
[] Certification Exam for Stenographer: $150.00
[] Certification Exam for Voice Writer: $150.00
[] Certification Exam Practice Skills DVD: $25.00
[] Student Practice Skills Exam: $125.00 - FOR PRACTICE PURPOSES ONLY

Applications must be received by our office on or before September 15, 2016.
Applications received after March 15, 2016 will not be accepted — NO EXCEPTIONS.

' INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING YOUR APPLICATION |

An incomplete application will not be accepted and returned to the applicant.
e Deliberate omissions or fraudulent answers will be grounds for rejection of application.
e ONLY CERTIFIED FUNDS (Cashier’s Check or Money Order) will be accepted as a form
of payment and made payable to NVCCRB.
e Submit a B/W copy of your picture identification which you will present at registration.
e Submit documented proof of your eligibility to take the Nevada Certification Exam.
See “Explanation of Qualifying Documents”. DO NOT SEND ORIGINALS
Read the General Guidelines and Regulations to ensure you are prepared for the exam.

APPLICANT INFORMATION

Are you a U.S. citizen? [ |Yes [ |No
If no, please attach all documents showing you have entitlement to remain and work in the U.S.

LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE
STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIPCODE
HOME TELEPHONE CELLULAR

BIRTHDATE EMAIL ADDRESS

CURRENT EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

EMPLOYER NAME SUPERVISOR
EMPLOYER ADDRESS TELEPHONE
CITY STATE ZIPCODE

POSITION FULL OR PART TIME




EDUCATION

NAME OF COURT REPORTING SCHOOL DATES ATTENDED GRADUATED (Y/N) TYPE OF DEGREE/CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION
NAME OF COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY DATES ATTENDED GRADUATED (Y/N) TYPE OF DEGREE/CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION
OTHER/TRADE/VOCATIONAL SCHOOL DATES ATTENDED GRADUATED (Y/N) TYPE OF DEGREE/CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION

If you hold a court reporter’s certificate or license in another state, has your certificate or license
ever been suspended, revoked, or subjected to discipline by a governing entity?
I:' Yes I:' No (If you answered yes, please submit date, place and disposition on a separate sheet and attach to your application.)

Have you ever been arrested or convicted of any offenses other than minor traffic violations?
I:' Yes D No (If you answered yes, please submit date, place and disposition on a separate sheet and attach to your application.)

AGREEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING

The undersigned applicant, being duly sworn, deposes and says: I am the person who made and signed,
and now attests to the foregoing statements in the application, which I have read and know the contents
to be true, complete and accurate in accordance with the provisions of NRS Chapter 656. I understand
omission of information may cause my application to be denied. I specifically authorize, and request, the
release of any and all information, whether of record or not, by any person who receives such request from
this Licensing Board.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE DATE

You are required to submit all requested documents to be considered to sit for our exam.
This includes previous applicants.

Nevada Statutes and Regulations Study Material

The written exam will include questions from the Nevada Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Code
relating to the practice of court reporting in the state of Nevada. If you wish to purchase a booklet, please
submit a check for $35.00. Make your check payable to NVCCRB and mail to:

State of Nevada Certified Court Reporters Board
5135 Camino Al Norte, Suite 270
North Las Vegas, NV 89031
Your booklet will be sent to you upon receipt of your check.

Or, you may print the applicable chapters directly from our
website at www.crptr.nv.gov, click on “Nevada Statutes and Regulations”.




Nevada Certification Examination
GENERAL GUIDELINES AND REGULATIONS

Guidelines are subject to change without notice.

EXPLANATION OF QUALIFYING DOCUMENTS

NRS 656.170 Time of examination; documentary evidence of qualifications.

1. Examinations must be held not less than twice a year at such times and places as the Board may designate.

2. No person may be admitted to the examination unless the person first presents satisfactory evidence to the
Board that he or she has:

(a) Received a passing grade on the National Court Reporters Association’s examination for registered
professional reporters, if the Board has approved the examination;

(b) Received a passing grade on the National Verbatim Reporters Association’s examination for certified
verbatim reporters, if the Board has approved the examination;

(c) Completed course work at a school for court reporters or completed course work offered through a distance
education program for court reporters in English grammar, reading, spelling and vocabulary, medical and legal
terminology, transcription and computer-aided transcription, reporting procedures and court reporting at 200
words per minute with an accuracy of 95 percent;

(d) A certificate as a registered professional reporter, registered merit reporter, certified CART provider,
certified broadcast captioner or certified realtime reporter from the National Court Reporters Association, if the
Board has approved each such certificate;

(e) A certificate as a certified verbatim reporter, realtime verbatim reporter, registered CART provider or
registered broadcast captioner or a certificate of merit from the National VVerbatim Reporters Association, if the
Board has approved each such certificate;

(F) A valid certificate or license to practice court reporting issued by another state; or

(9) One year of continuous experience as a full-time court reporter using voice writing or any system of manual
or mechanical shorthand writing.

GENERAL GUIDELINES

All examinees are required to read these rules and possess thorough understanding. Failure to follow them may
result in your failing the examination. Any examinee participating in any irregularity during the examination, such as
giving or obtaining unauthorized information or aid, as evidenced by observation or subsequent analysis, including
comparison of the candidate’s notes to their final transcript, will result in automatic failure of both the Skills Test and the
Written Knowledge Test (unless previously passed) and may result in restriction of the examinee’s participation in all
future Nevada Certification Examinations for three consecutive exams.

e Each examinee must provide their own equipment which shall be used strictly at their own risk. The
examinee is required to provide their own computer, printer and software, security keys, cables,
extension cord, adapter, surge protector, pencil/pen and paper.  Examinee may be requested to
relinquish any disks at the discretion of the Board staff or proctors. The Board will not provide any
equipment or equipment services on site. There will be no shared equipment at this examination.

e The examinee is required to possess knowledge to operate their equipment. The Board assumes no
responsibility should any equipment not perform properly, be damaged, dropped or stolen, etc.

e Additional transcription time will not be allowed for equipment failure, accidental erasing of computer
files or forgotten items such as cables, power cords, etc.

e The examinee using a typewriter is responsible for providing all of their own equipment and may use an
electronic spell-checker and/or a paper dictionary. All examinees may use an electronic spell checker
and/or paper dictionary.

e The examinee is responsible for producing their own transcript without assistance. The transcript
must be the work product of the individual examinee. The printing of one rough draft is
permitted for this exam. However, all rough drafts must be turned in and will be destroyed.

e The examinee must perform their own reading, translating, editing and printing functions. All
corrections to final transcripts must be typed; handwritten corrections will not be accepted.




SETUP GUIDELINES

The examinee is responsible to provide their own equipment and be aware of its performance. Computers may
be tested during the setup period in the transcription room and turned off until time of transcription. If the
examinee chooses to have a typewriter available in the event of computer problems, such equipment may be
placed in proximity to your computer setup as directed by the Board staff or proctor. The backup typewriter
must be brought into the transcription room during the setup period and not during the examination.

Note: Please be sure to bring your own power strip and extension cord. Electrical outlets will be
provided for you in the transcription room.

Note: We recommend NOT using wireless printers, best to use printer cables for printing.

NEVADA REGULATIONS — Examination Administration
NAC 656.120 Examination: Administration. (NRS 656.130, 656.160)

1. The Executive Secretary of the Board shall assign a unique identification number to each application
that is approved by the Board. An applicant must register on the day of the examination by presenting
the original of the photo identification that accompanied his application and by signing the sheet for
registration provided by the Board. The Board or a member of the staff of the Board will open the
examination room on the day of the examination at 8 a.m. for registration. The Board or a member of the
staff of the Board will provide a seat for the applicant in the examination room according to the
identification number that is assigned to his application.

2. A member of the Board shall give oral instructions and remarks of introduction at approximately 9 a.m.
on the day of the examination. Unless special arrangements are made pursuant to subsection 7 or 8, all
applicants shall register and be present for the oral instructions and remarks of introduction.

3. The Board will administer two sections of the examination. An applicant who takes the examination for
the first time must complete both sections of the examination. The name of the applicant or his
identification number, or both, must not be written or otherwise appear on the examination provided by
the Board.

4. The examination of an applicant and all other material relating to the examination must not be removed
from the examination room during the administration of the examination. If an applicant removes the
examination or material relating to the examination, the Board will fail the applicant for the purposes of
the current application and will, if deemed appropriate by the Board, disqualify the applicant from
participation in future examinations. After an applicant completes the examination, he shall return the
examination and material to the registration desk.

5. An applicant shall not:

(a) Ask questions during the examination except for questions that are necessary for clarification of the
examination; or

(b) Leave the room in which the examination is administered without permission from a person who is
monitoring the examination or a member of the staff of the Board who is present at the registration desk.

6. An applicant shall bring to the examination room a pen or pencil, stenographic equipment and any other
equipment required by the Board. The Board will not:

(a) Provide stenographic or any other equipment.
(b) Replace equipment for an applicant if his equipment malfunctions during the examination.

7. Upon the written request of an applicant with a disability at least 10 working days before the
examination, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall make special arrangements for the
administration of the examination to the applicant if those arrangements are:

(a) Feasible;

(b) Reasonable; and

(c) In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. 8§ 12101 to 12213,
inclusive.

8. Upon the request of an applicant whose religious beliefs prevent him from taking the examination on the
date of the examination, the Executive Secretary of the Board shall make special arrangements for the
administration of the examination to the applicant if the request is made before the date of the
examination.


http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-656.html#NRS656Sec130
http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-656.html#NRS656Sec160

9. If an applicant cheats on the examination, the Board will expel the applicant from the examination room
and fail the applicant.

10.  Questions concerning the administration, procedure or content of the examination must be submitted in
writing to the Board.

NEVADA REGULATIONS — Written Knowledge Test

Each applicant will have 1 hour and 45 minutes to complete and submit the written knowledge test.

NAC 656.130 Examination: Written section.

1. After the presentation of the oral instructions and remarks of introduction by a member of the Board, the
Board will provide for the administration of the written section of the examination. Unless special
arrangements are made pursuant to subsection 7 of NAC 656.120, the Board will give an applicant 1
hour and 45 minutes to complete the written section. A grade of at least 70 percent is required to pass
the written section.

2. The written section of the examination consists of not less than 150 and not more than 200 questions that
test the knowledge of the applicant in:

(a) Vocabulary;

(b) Punctuation;

(c) Grammar;

(d) Spelling;

(e) Medical terminology;

(f) Legal terminology;

(9) The provisions of the Nevada Rules of Civil Procedure relating to the practice of court reporting;
(h) The provisions of the Supreme Court Rules relating to the practice of court reporting; and

(i) Any other subject relating to the duties of a court reporter specified by the Board.

3. An applicant shall not refer to or otherwise use books, papers or other material during the written section
of the examination. All books, papers and other such material must be placed on the floor during the
examination.

NEVADA REGULATIONS - Skills Test

Each applicant will have 3 hours to complete and submit their transcript.

Skills Test is a 4 voice video, Q &A, 10 minutes sustained

NAC 656.140 Examination: Section on transcription.

1. After the administration of the written section of the examination, the Board will administer the section of the
examination that tests the ability of the applicant to transcribe. Before the section on transcription, an applicant
will have a warm-up period of approximately 3 minutes to establish voice familiarity and clarity. An accuracy of
97.5 percent is required to pass the section on transcription.

2. The section on transcription consists of dictation of not less than 200 not more than 225 words per minute.
After the dictation is completed, the Board will provide to each applicant a glossary of proper names for use
during the examination.

3. After completion of the dictation, the applicant shall transcribe the dictation. Unless special arrangements are
made pursuant to subsection 7 of NAC 656.120, the Board will give each applicant 3 hours to complete the
transcription. An applicant may use a dictionary. An applicant shall prepare the transcription in the manner
prescribed by the Board. In preparing the transcript, the applicant shall not use handwriting or any electronic
recording device.

4. If an applicant elects not to complete the sectionon  transcription, he must sign an affidavit acknowledging
examination and include on the notes his name, the date and the identification number assigned to him.



http://leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-656.html#NAC656Sec120
http://leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-656.html#NAC656Sec120

5. The Board will count each of the following as one error on the section on transcription:

(a) One wrong word;

(b) Misuse of the singular or plural of a word;

(c) Misuse of the present or past tense of a word;

(d) Omission of a word;

(e) Addition of a word,;

(f) Transposition of a word;

(9) A word that is spelled incorrectly, including, but not limited to, typographical errors and keyboard errors;

(h) A name that is wrong;

(i) A period that is omitted or placed incorrectly;

(i) A question mark that is omitted or placed incorrectly;

(K) A contraction of a word that is incorrectly typed as two words;

(1) Two words that are incorrectly typed as a contraction;

(m) Omission of a question or answer;

(n) A number or figure that is incorrectly typed; and

(o) A capital letter that is omitted if the Board determines that the capitalization is necessary.
6. The Board will not count the following as errors on the section on transcription:

(a) Punctuation that is included if the Board determines that the punctuation is optional;

(b) Words that are incorrectly capitalized if the Board determines that the capitalization is optional;

(c) Use of paragraphs;

(d) Crossing out words by use of a typewriter;

(e) Typing dates with the use of ordinal or cardinal numbers;

(f) Errors in the use of spacing; or

(9) Use of hyphenation, including, but not limited to, compound words.

NEVADA REGULATIONS — Examination Results

NAC 656.150 Certification and notice of results of examination; action by successful applicant; review
of examination. (NRS 656.130, 656.155, 656.160, 656.180)

1. Not more than 8 weeks after the administration of the examination, the Board will, at a public meeting held
for that purpose, certify the score of each applicant who took the examination. As soon as practicable after
conducting the public meeting, the Chair of the Board shall provide official written notice to each applicant of
the results of the examination of the applicant. The results of an examination must not be given to an applicant
by telephone.

2. After the Chair of the Board provides official notice of the results of the examinations, a successful
applicant may submit an application for a certificate on a form provided by the Board. The application must
include:

(@) The fee required by NAC 656.200 for the original issuance of a certificate;

(b) The residential address and telephone number of the applicant;

(c) The business address and telephone number, if any, of the applicant;

(d) The date on which the applicant successfully passed the examination;

(e) In accordance with NRS 656.155, the statement prescribed by the Division of Welfare and Supportive
Services of the Department of Health and Human Services pursuant to NRS 425.520; and

(F) Complete answers to the questions contained on the form.

= Upon receipt of a complete application, the Board will process an application for a certificate.

3. A successful applicant shall not practice court reporting in this State until he or she receives a certificate
from the Board.

4. An applicant may submit a written request to the Board to review his or her examination. Upon receipt of
such a request, the Board will provide a copy of the section on transcription if the applicant pays the Board for
the actual expenses incurred by the Board in photocopying the examination and mailing the examination to the
applicant. An applicant may, within 45 days after the Board certifies the score of the applicant pursuant to
subsection 1, review the written section of the examination at the office of the Board. The Board will not mail
the written section of the examination to an applicant. An applicant may not copy or otherwise reproduce the
written section of the examination.



http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-656.html#NRS656Sec130
http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-656.html#NRS656Sec155
http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-656.html#NRS656Sec160
http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-656.html#NRS656Sec180
http://leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-656.html#NAC656Sec200
http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-656.html#NRS656Sec155
http://leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-425.html#NRS425Sec520

NEVADA REGULATIONS - Failure and Retaking the Examination

NAC 656.160 Failure and retaking of examination.

1.

If an applicant fails one or both sections of the examination, he is ineligible for a certificate. Such an
applicant may retake the examination if he submits an application and the fee required for examination
to the Board.

A passing grade on either section of the examination received by an applicant will be valid for the two
immediately succeeding examinations administered by the Board. An applicant who has a passing grade
on either section of the examination that is valid for the examination is required to be present for the oral
instructions and remarks of introduction by a member of the Board, but is not required to be present for
the section of the examination that he passed.



